Sly Meets Callas (CD)


Claron McFadden (voice) | Rolf Delfos (alto sax) | Bart Wirtz (alto sax) | Mete Erker (tenor sax) | Peter Broekhuizen (baritone sax)

  1. Aux Anges (R. Delfos & B. Wirtz, lyrics C. McFadden)
  2. Sly Meets Callas (B. Wirtz, lyrics C. McFadden)
  3. In the Jangling and the Wrangling (R. Delfos, lyrics Edgar A. Poe)
  4. Silver Sounds (B. Wirtz, lyr. C. McFadden / B. Wirtz)
  5. Breathe In, Breathe out (M. Erker)
  6. Beyonzzz (R. Delfos)
  7. Burns’ Blues (R. Delfos, lyrics anonymous)
  8. No Scuttlebutt (R. Delfos)
  9. Tranehopping (P. Broekhuizen)
  10. Ode to a Mouse (M. Erker, lyrics Robert Burns)
  11. Karpuz (M. Erker)
  12. Weasel and the White Boys Cool (Ricky L. Jones, arr. P. Broekhuizen)
  13. Claron’s Song (M. Erker & C. McFadden)


‘The voice as an instrument, the saxophone as a voice. The classical soprano Claron McFadden is one of the absolute best in the world. With the idiosyncratic Artvark she enters a new sound world: new, groovy chamber music on the border between Ellington and Ravel with a touch of Edgar Allen Poe. Four jazzy gentlemen (Rolf Delfos, Mete Erker, Bart Wirtz and Peter Broekhuizen) and a diva meander through musical traditions and untrodden paths.’

  • 1st release: ZenneZ Records ZR1201001 Feb 2, 2012 – Live release Bimhuis Amsterdam (NL) Jan 13, 2012
  • 2nd release: Oink Records OINK-011201 Jan 22, 2017
  • Digital release by WM Digital: Jan 22, 2017 / UPC 8433391370216

Additional information

Weight 75 g
Dimensions 142 × 126 × 7 mm